Back to top anchor

Brought to you by Health New Zealand | Te Whatu Ora – Southern and WellSouth primary health network

Open main menu Close main menu
Southern landscape

About the team

The team and the experts and advisors behind the Time for Change - Te Hurihanga change programme.

The Programme Team

  • Adell Cox, Pūkenga Kaupapa, Clinical Lead
  • Bronwyn Billinghurst, Pūkenga Kaupapa, Clinical Lead
  • Chris Crane, Kaiwhakahaere Te Hurihanga, Programme Manager
  • Daniel Tawaroa, Pou Tataki - Project Manager
  • Gemma Griffin, Pūkenga Kaupapa, Project Manager, with lived experience
  • Jenni Topliss, Pūkenga Kaupapa, Clinical Lead
  • Kim Forrester, Kaiwhakahaere Tari, Management Administrator
  • Virginia Irving, Pūkenga Kaupapa, Project Manager
  • Melissa Garry, Senior Communications Advisor

The roles are mostly part-time, with the exception of the Programme Manager and Pou Tataki – Project Manager.

Got a question?

Email: and we'll be able to direct your query to the best person to respond.

Experts and Advisors

Leadership Group

The Mental Health and Addictions Change Leadership Group has been brought together to initiate and lead the Mental Health and Addictions Time for Change – Te Hurihanga Programme, engaging in a collaborative way with all parties in the Southern Mental Health and Addiction System. It is a decision-making group, to lead and deliver the Mental Health and Addictions Change Programme and make recommendations through Te Whatu Ora (Health NZ).

Southern Mental Health and Addictions (MH&A) Cross Sector Group

 The Southern MH&A Cross Sector Group is an advice and communication network. Members are expected to engage with their networks to share, disseminate and incorporate feedback to the change processes led by the project team.

Mental Health and Addictions Networks

The Southern region has four Mental Health and Addictions (MH&A) Networks, as below:

Waitaki MH&A Network (Waitaki district). The Chair is Helen Algar.

Central Lakes MH&A Network (Queenstown Lakes and Central Otago districts combined). The Chair is Kevin Sharpe.

Ōtākou MH&A Network (Dunedin City and Clutha). The Chair is Clare Curran.

Future Directions MH&A Network (Southland, Invercargill City and Gore). The Chair is Rachael Roberts.

Each Network links to mental health and addictions providers and stakeholders that advocate for and improve equity of access, quality of service provision, and pathways to wellbeing for everyone in their area.

Consumer Advocates, Consumer Representatives

There are six consumer advocates, consumer representatives supporting the programme.

Participation is also acknowledged and appreciated from various Community Groups, whānau and affected others, and people with lived experience.