Back to top anchor

Brought to you by Southern DHB and WellSouth primary health network

Open main menu Close main menu

Southern DHB Board


The Board is made up of up to 11 members. Seven are elected (three for the Southland constituency and four for the Otago constituency) and the remaining four are appointed by the Minister of Health, by notice in the New Zealand Gazette. The Minister of Health also appoints the Chair and Deputy Chair.

The Board serves for a term of three years.

DHB Board members are accountable to the Minister of Health (through the Chairperson of the Board), for the performance of the DHB.

Board meetings

Members of the public are welcome to join any meeting, subject only to the right of the Board to exclude the public from certain items of business, such as those that deal with matters of privacy or commercial sensitivity.

2021 Board meeting dates

Meetings will be held in either the Invercargill or Dunedin Board Rooms (see agenda for details).   There will be a videolink between the two venues.  

2 February 2021, 9.30am - Dunedin

2 March 2021, 9.30 am - Invercargill

8 April 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

4 May 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

2 June 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin 

6 July 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

3 August 2021, 9.30 am - Invercargill

7 September 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

5 October 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

2 November 2021, 9.30 am - Invercargill

7 December 2021, 9.30 am - Dunedin

Agenda and board papers

Agendas (which include the minutes of the last meeting) are posted on the news and publications page two days prior to the meeting.